In Florida, a speeding ticket comes with some repercussions. Specifically, you’ll probably need to pay a fine. And your auto insurance rates will most likely go up. On top of all of that, the HSMV will add points to your license.
How many points are you looking at after a speeding ticket in Florida? And, more importantly, how do you get those points off? Find out here.
Like many states, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) keeps tabs on you as a driver using a points system.
Per state statute, you get a certain number of points added to your license for each traffic violation conviction. Here’s a quick overview of some driving violations — including speeding tickets — and their points in Florida. We pulled these pretty much directly from Florida Statute Section 322.27, with some slight modifications to make them easier to read:
Clearly, speeding isn’t the worst thing you can do on the road. But you are looking at some points getting added to your license.
You should also know that there’s no double-jeopardy type law that protects you. You can be convicted of multiple violations in the same incident. The HSMV will assign a point total to each, and all of those points will get added to your license.
Another thing to note: if you get convicted of a traffic violation in another state, that state will inform the HSMV. The HSMV will then assign that violation a point total and add those points to your license.
Plenty of people are walking around not even aware of how many points are on their license, so why does it matter, really?
Simple. Too many points in a certain time period will mean a license suspension. Here’s a look at the point threshold for license suspension in Florida:
You’d need a bunch of Florida speeding ticket points to risk suspension, but it’s still worth monitoring. Keep an eye on your point total, especially if you’ve been pulled over more than once in the last few years, so you don’t get a surprise suspension.
Don’t get fooled by sites that make you pay to get your driving record to see how many points are on your license. The HSMV offers this service for free online. You’ll need your driver’s license number to get started.
If you want a mailed copy of your driving record, you can get it — but you’ll have to pay for it. Fill out this form and include the required fee. It’s $8 for a three-year history or $10 for a complete history, so you might as well pay the couple of extra bucks and get the full picture.
While you’ll see some sources saying that points fall off your license in Florida after three years, the HSMV specifically says, “Points... remain on the driver record for at least five years from the date of disposition (conviction).”
All this said, the HSMV does only look at a 36-month period when determining if you have enough Florida speeding ticket points for license suspension, so you can stop stressing about violations after a few years.
The good news? You’re not stuck with your Florida speeding ticket points. Once a year (and five times throughout your life), you can take a basic driver improvement course to get points off your license. And if you’re wondering how to get points off your license in Florida as easily as possible, you’ll be glad to know you can take this four-hour class online and at your convenience.
All told, Florida speeding ticket points aren’t a big deal. But keep an eye on your record to make sure they don’t add up, risking a suspension.